#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > ZL1 Discussions

AWE Tuning

Old 03-10-2020, 10:36 AM   #1
ZRacerLE

Drives: The DSSV Twins: ZR2 and ZLE A10
PTM and recovering from too much lift mid turn

Hey track rats,

Does anyone know for a fact if PTM can save you mid turn if you lift too much?

The scenario is I'm used to lifting on purpose in tight, slow corners (mainly autocross when I do this) to help the rear end kick around, but when tires are too cold or traction has changed, e.g. gravel, tire marbles, etc., it can change the amount and speed I should have lifted and I just spin out. My natural reaction is to just apply the brakes and ride it to a stop.

I'm completely new to PTM, but is it the case that if I floor it, PTM will kick in and maximize my traction during the slide? Too scared to try this until I do another autocross with a safe section to test.

Any other non intuitive tricks you can share about using PTM?
ZRacerLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 10:51 AM   #2
R3ctivision
1LE Convert

Drives: 2018 ZLE
PTM can't help you with over rotation from a lift. ESC can though.

I think you are generally right that squeezing a little bit of throttle to settle the rear is the right thing to do unless you already got the car to snap.

Previous cars:
- 2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE (Red Hot)
- 2018 Miata RF GT (Machine Gray/Auburn)
- 2017 Camaro 1SS 1LE (Summit White)
- 2008 BMW 135i (Montego Blue)
- 1996 BMW 328i (Arctic Silver)
R3ctivision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 06:29 PM   #3
Stephen12ZL1

Drives: '21 ZLE A10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZRacerLE View Post
Hey track rats,

Does anyone know for a fact if PTM can save you mid turn if you lift too much?