Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 06-19-2015, 05:02 AM   #1
thunderkyss

Drives: 2015 Red Hot SS/RS M6
Does it bother you that the Z28 is the best of the best?

Hear me out now. I haven't really followed the 5th gen Camaros, so I'm just learning what's what. & I'm sure it's just me, but I figured I'd ask.

Does it bother anyone that the Z28 is at the top of the heap? I may very well have my Camaro history all screwed up, but I remember the SS being the big dog. & I mean all the way back to the 69s & 70s. The SS & ZL1s having the most horsepower & the Z28 being the ultimate track car.

Now... the SS is the entry V8, the 1LE (which I think should be the Z28) specializes in handling, the ZL1 is the ultimate performance, & the Z28 is a bit more than that.

Even in the 4th Gens, the Z28 was the entry V8, & the SS was the ultimate.

It's cool & everything. I can adjust. Just thought it weird.
thunderkyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 05:48 AM   #2
hrpiii
AKA "Beefcake"

Drives: 2023 ZL1 Sharkskin
are you seeing marketing at it's best? When we were all younger, remembering the "SS" was the big dog at the party, and now we are grown up, what are we wanting? Still the "SS". But times have changed and then isn't now, and now isn't then, but it's hard to rewire our memories from our youth.

Maybe? something to think about...
hrpiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 05:58 AM   #3
Chevy_cowboy

Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS M6 Convertible
No, I'm glad to see them return to what the models were originally with the Z/28 being a barely street legal track car and the SS being the everyman's Camaro.
Old 06-19-2015, 06:04 AM   #4
BluePhoenix

Drives: GMC Sierra AT4