Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 07-29-2015, 12:34 PM   #1
davgoat

Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Vert
{Info needed} Is the body & frame on LT,LS same as SS regarding rigid and strength

I'm new to the Camaro so need some help

I'm looking at buying a 2010 thru 2014 SS car that has been wrecked and the body is tore up and can not be repaired. Need to know if swapping drivetrain, electrical and suspension from SS body and installing in a LT or LS body that been complete gutted ( drivetrain ,suspension, wiring ) will work?

I have found a few water damaged or stripped LT & LS cars that I could use the body from and install the SS components in. Not sure if the V6 platform will support the V8 torque and if the mounting points strength areas are same on V8 body as the V6 body are. I have found some SS cars that are water or stripped also, if the LT,LS body ( V6 parts removed) are same gives me more options cars to do swap with.

If you know on any differences are info would appreciate some help
THANKS
davgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 12:42 PM   #2
CamaroCracka

Drives: 2010 Turbo LS3
Guys that tried it had problems with wiring not body.

2011 Vert - 416/w 230/236 .612/.602 115lsa, 1LE suspension w/32mm rear bar. Z28 diff. ZL1 brakes.
CamaroCracka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 12:52 PM   #3
arkentect

Drives: 2010 Camaro SGM 1LT M6
the Bosch ECU of the 2010-2011 LLT def wont let you do that. Someone already tried and that thread has died at wiring
arkentect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 12:55 PM   #4
MagnumForceGB

Drives: Fastest 2010 Camaro V6