#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 02-22-2019, 11:04 PM   #1
oneplustwo

Drives: 2018 Torch Red SS 1LE with Whipple
Spoiler for track duty?

Hey all,

I've been tracking my 2018 SS 1LE since I got it about 6 months ago and it's been great. (For reference, I'm around 1:51 or 1:52 at Sonoma bone stock.) All my previous cars have required modding to be track ready and although I'm really happy with the car, I almost wish there was something I HAD to do to make it track worthy. Many of you are familiar with this "itch."

I was thinking about the ZL1 1LE spoiler but it's expensive and also doesn't match up with the SS 1LE holes. I considered a wicker bill but I'm not a huge fan of the look and frankly, it seems like the drag/down force ratio would be a lot worse than a proper spoiler. (Pure conjecture on my part.)

So my main question to the experts here... will either spoiler make much difference on track? And if so, which one would you go with?

I also considered a front splitter upgrade but this is also my daily driver and it's already hard enough driving around being careful not to crash it into something. I'd consider the dive planes though the ones I've seen all looks kinda cheesy compared to the ZL1 1LE ones. Any thoughts on those would be appreciated as well.
oneplustwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 11:32 PM   #2
RideZX6R
Probably tired right now

Drives: 1Lap1LE | EV6 FE | 18 F150
The 1LE spoiler was rumored to be functional if only a bit last I heard.

If you don't like the ZL1-1LE (which is proven functional) or the wickerbill (which is functionally proven on other cars, but not sure if it is on a Camaro)...

then basically you're looking for like an APR style wing... Everything else I'm aware of is purely cosmetic.

I think the best question would be, are you loosing traction or getting "wiggle" at high speeds (ie do you even *need* additional downforce) ?