Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 05-27-2022, 03:16 PM   #1
wbcamaro6

Drives: Chevy Camaro
personally, have you deleted AFM or kept it ?

Hey guys, I'm a college student (major Instrumentation & electrical) who recently had his Camaro built and I've read a lot of mixed reviews on the AFM and failures. Since my pockets aren't as deep ( yet) as most of the older member I wanted to maintain the unit as long as possible and get the best bang for my buck. With that being said could anybody share some advice or personal experience dealing with the AFM ?
wbcamaro6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 03:36 PM   #2
FlukeSS

Drives: 2020 Camaro 2SS A10
AFM - Active Fuel Management aka "DOD" Displacement on Demand

When I had my upgrades installed and tuned for E85 they disabled the AFM. Car is always in V8 mode now.

Gas mileage wise very little changed before and after my upgrades.

Do you need it? Not really. Should you disable it? Not unless you run upgrades/E85 flex fuel.

Its really up to you honestly. If that is all you do to your car, then I would say don't waste your money. Otherwise it will get disabled when you install an upgrade that requires the car to be tuned.

That said I'm sure other more knowledgeable members will comment shortly to give you better advice than I may have.
2020 Camaro 2SS A10 | Rebuilt by: CBI Street Cars | 2" SE LT Headers | 3" SE X-Pipe | 3" MBRP Axle-Back | Pri & Sec Cat Deletes | K&N Typhoon CAI | LT2 Ported | 95mm ZR1 TB | DOD Delete | BTR Stage I Cam | ECM, TCM & E85 |Tuned by: Shane Hinds | Dyno: 510 rwhp 472 rwtq
FlukeSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 03:45 PM   #3
wbcamaro6

Drives: Chevy Camaro
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlukeSS View Post
AFM - Active Fuel Management aka "DOD" Displacement on Demand