Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 03-11-2020, 11:00 AM   #1
Camaronewbie20

Drives: None
Looking at buying a used Camaro SS

I am looking at buying a Camaro SS but mileage is above 80K. Since I am new to the Camaro scene do these engines hold up once they hit 100k or am I looking at dumping a bunch of money into it.

Thanks
Camaronewbie20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 11:40 AM   #2
Moto-Mojo
Fast Cars and Old Guitars

Drives: 2015 2SS RS (L99, baby!)
You could be asking about ANY car with the same scenario. Carfax and maintenance records will help but impossible to know just how it was driven and really maintained. Bottom line is, it’s a performance car and was likely treated like one. Conversely, there are 100’s of people on here not unlike myself who treat these things better than family.

It’s a solid motor and car if taken care of. Shop around, pay a little more for one you can verify was given some love. I wouldn’t let 80K miles scare me on a good one.
Old 03-11-2020, 12:15 PM   #3
MarkNJ

Drives: 2015 2SS Commemorative Edition
All depends on the car. Some are cared for and some are beat up. Do your research. Take your time. Some real gems out there if you can find them. Good luck.
MarkNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 12:51 PM   #4
Vegas Bound
Account Suspended

Drives: 2013 Sparkly Red One
Some cars with 100K miles have less wear and tear than other cars with 10K miles.
Vegas Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 01:03 PM   #5
pyroguy
Started#gottalovethatblue

Drives: ABM #831
First off, welcome to the forums! Thanks for posting and we're glad you're looking at Camaros.