Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Old 04-28-2015, 01:01 PM   #1
easyfame

Drives: 2013 Camaro LFX
Full Audio Upgrade and Experiences From a Complete Novice.

So this will be my little write up on my complete audio install coming from someone who doesn't even know how to solder! Please feel free to ask any specific questions if you want.

I know a decent amount about home theatre and thought I would give it a shot. I researched for weeks and felt I was confident enough to take on the challenge overall took about 2 days to do EVERYTHING. I didn't really take any pictures but I'll upload some of the finished product later today.

I worked in retail and got a huge discount on most of the audio equipment. Pretty much the only reason why I made some of these choices.
Equipment used!
Pioneer NEX 4100
Scosche GM5201AB
Polk Audio Component 6x5 Fronts
Polk Audio 6x9 Rears
Polk Audio PA660 4 channel amp
Kicker CX600.1 mono amp
x2 Kicker CompS 300W RMS (running at 2ohm at 600rms in parallel)
Sub thump rear speaker adapters and sub enclosure.
Metra front speaker adapter
MISC rca, speaker wire

Fronts: using this guide http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=130857
Taking the door panels off was fairly easy. I ended up breaking about 5 or so push clips when taking it off but ordered a few extras from amazon. I really recommend using two people as it can be difficult to hold the panel and take off the numerous connections. The polk tweeters did not fit too well in the stock housing but I don't think it matters because closing the enclosure holds the tweeter in place very well, just used a bit of hot glue to be extra secure. I used the sub thump harness eventually but it didn't fit right. I ended up using the metra adapter and it works perfectly!