Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > ZL1 Discussions

AWE Tuning

Old 02-21-2019, 02:44 PM   #1
SWZL11LE

Drives: '19 ZL1 1LE
2019 ZL1 1LE - New Owner Impressions

I took delivery of my '19 ZL1 1LE recently. Even though I am in Miami, FL, got the car from Sam Pierce Chevrolet in Daleville, IN (Indianapolis) and couldn't have been happier with their service.

Initially was on the market for a 2014-2015 Z28 in white, was pretty hard to find or the ones I found weren't in good enough of a shape, so I decided to just order a new ZL1 1LE.

I bought the car without ever driven a newer Camaro, let alone have even sat in one. I was sold on the fact that people who I would say are "credible" journalists and professional racers who had driven these cars were all saying "Do it!", so I did.

I'm a fairly seasoned driver (on track), a very picky person when it comes to cars and not attached to one brand. One of my favorite street cars I've driven on track was a lightly modded C6 ZR1 (had a smaller pulley and on massive Hoosier R6's). The only thing I didn't like about the C6 ZR1 was the steering feel (lack of it). I bought the ZL1 1LE with high expectations, however always had the question of "how will the steering feel?".

Glad to report that, the Camaro is above what I expected and I had some high expectations. Most importantly the steering feel is on point! This is the first thing I thought when I went for that first drive when the car arrived. Knit picking, the steering is way too heavy in track mode, but I could live with that, most important thing was that the steering feel is very direct with no on center sloppiness!

For a street car, I am very well impressed with the quality, fit finish of the interior, it really does feel like a quality product, but I guess I have to wait and find out if it starts squeaking and rattling over some time.