Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 10-21-2015, 10:51 AM   #1
Dark_Horse

Drives: Black 2015 2LS, Teal 1991 RS
Drop in filter VS CAI

Hey guys I'm new to the 5th gen and very new to the v6 life. My other car is v8 with a list of mods but it's a different animal so I'm starting fresh here.

I've seen where with the LFX motors some guys see the same or more gain from using a drop in filter such as a K&N or Green filter to replace the stock VS using a cold air setup. Just curious on the gains (if really any) of both before I decide to start spending cash. Not looking to do a lot of mods especially because I just bought the car and also want to keep it close to stock until the warranty is up (I opted for the extended warranty). Yes I know that mods don't instantly void the warranty but I do have a '91 Camaro as the toy right now and I do a good bit of traveling and unfortunately I don't want to run too much of a risk of having to deal with a crappy dealer for service just because of a couple bolt ons.

Just haven't seen any numbers on the two and I have searched for a comparison but most people seem to just switch to cold air. I like the look but I don't want to spend the $$ on a system if it doesn't give me a good enough gain on an otherwise stock setup so that's why I'm also considering a drop in "performance" filter.
Dark_Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 11:40 AM   #2
Dark_Horse

PM sent
Old 10-21-2015, 01:17 PM   #3
Apex Motorsports

Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Horse View Post
Hey guys I'm new to the 5th gen and very new to the v6 life. My other car is v8 with a list of mods but it's a different animal so I'm starting fresh here.