The 2014 Corvette Stingray Forum
News / Blog Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Chevrolet Corvette Stingray C7 Forum > Corvette7.com General Forums > Corvette Stingray C7 General Discussions

Old 07-24-2014, 09:26 AM   #1
JoshuaKM1

Drives: BMW 535i
Ordering a 2015 Stingray

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the Corvette forum. I've been a long-time BMW enthusiast and I never in a million years would have considered a Corvette until a friend of mine told me to test drive the C7 before placing my order on the 2015 BMW M3. I was really blown away by the fit & finish of this car. Right now I'm thinking of ordering a 2015 C7 coupe (3LT w/Z51 package) in night race blue metallic with the kalahari interior. Just a few questions for the forum 'vette experts/enthusiasts:

(1) Does the price of the coupe include a roof or is it an additional cost? Which roof do y'all typically recommend? I like the idea of having a glass roof but my local dealer said it gets incredibly hot (obviously) in warm weather. Is it possible to completely tint the glass or is it better to just go with a painted roof?
(2) Is the 3LT package "worth it" over the 2LT package? I assume it makes the car look more luxurious? By the same token, carbon fiber with kalahari looks amazing, but is it worth the price from a visual/aesthetic standpoint?
(3) The 2015 models seem to offer the option of a plastic wrap (clear bra). Is this something that most of you would recommend or would it be cheaper/better to have an aftermarket wrap placed?
(4) Are there any must-have options or things that you wish you had on your C7?

Thanks so much!

Josh
JoshuaKM1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 10:35 AM   #2
Glen e
Retired from Car mfrs....

Drives: 2LT RS/HR-V
Former (and still) big time BMW enthusiast here, in fact worked for them for 22 years before retiring.....my first vette too - your answers, IMO