The 2014 Corvette Stingray Forum
News / Blog Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Chevrolet Corvette Stingray C7 Forum > Corvette7.com General Forums > C7 Ordering, Pricing, Order Tracking Discussions

Old 01-26-2014, 12:24 PM   #1
Jeff7

Drives: C7 2LT
How Did The Allocation System Start?

To my way of thinking, it shouldn't make a difference where an order is placed, as long as the dealer is authorized to sell a particular model. You place your order, get in line with other buyers, and when your number comes up, the car is built (subject to availability of parts; i.e. constraint). Yet from reading through the forum, it doesn't seem to work that way. People who order from certain dealers get their cars much more quickly.

Does anybody know the history of the allocation system? As a newbie, I'd like to learn about it.
Jeff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 02:59 PM   #2
Glen e
Retired from Car mfrs....

Drives: 2LT RS/HR-V
not that complicated...Chev gives car to the guys that helped them sell the previous genration when other dealers told Chev to stuff it...that's the short version...

this may help a bit - and search the other 100 threads on this:

a dealer puts it in his computer on his end = code 1100 - at this point you don't have jack....

when Chev says the dealer has a "slot" and it matches your order - they ACCEPT IT and your code becomes 2000

At that point you are getting a car, before that...nothing....

So 1100 is you wrapping a package, and putting it on your doorstep and calling UPS

2000 is when the truck comes and picks it up, until then, your package can sit there forever...

I have said this before but the very best way to get info is from your dealer. Remind the SALES MANAGER - not your salesman, that you are going to get a survey when all is said and done and you want desperately to give them good scores...but you can't if you don't get the codes from them every few days via email at 10 am in the morning.