Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

Old 01-01-2015, 11:33 PM   #1
forklord

Drives: 2010 2SS
new build for roadcourse....

Hey Guys. So i'm planning on trying the roadcourse when i move to the city. I'm getting a little discouraged by a lot of people cuz i have a supercharger. was gonna upgrade the oil cooler, rads, add a diff cooler, etc but im still not comfortable with it. im a total newb at racing and sure everyones gonna tell me to try it before i sell my s/c and build my engine....but anyway...

it will be somewhat of a budget build so im wondering if i should machine my ls3 to a 416/418 forged and get my heads milled/polished a little and do the rest myself. it will very much be a daily driver in the summer only, but i really want to hit the track. id like to sit at 550whp at LEAST...would i keep the id850s and zl1 fuel pump? dry sump? will i still need to upgrade cooling regardless? will i need 3.91 gears?? /cry

the main questions tho are what pistons/rods/rings/etc will i need with a 5-6k budget and is it even possible..... am i better off selling the whole engine, s/c and all, and getting a turn key? i think an lsx/ls7 block is out of my range lol....would be nice

if anyone has any similar build journals on here to recommend id like to see em. thanks!
2010 2SS- 562whp/634wtq 12 psi on3 turbo 78mm magnum /w aem truboost, pat g cam, Kooks 3" catback, Factory Rep 41s with 285/315 20" michelin PSS, Snow Meth, Hex Hood Vents, ZL1 FP & ADM FPCM /w JMS BAP, ID 850s, DSS lvl 4 axles & aluminum 1 piece D/S, Total Pro BMR bushings, fe4 sways, toe rods & trailing arms, Prothane engine mounts, MGW shifter, eaton true trac, mantic 9000 clutch, idealg master cylinder, JDP clutch oil reservoir, ram clutch pedal adjust, Tick clutch & bleed lines, Dewitts Rad