Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Old 04-05-2021, 05:11 PM   #1
TuneAFish

Drives: 2015 Camaro SS M6
NA to boosted tuning question

Hi everyone – as the title indicates, I am new to boost and have a question about the tuning process. I have a 2015 SS M6 car that I am adding small turbos to; I have HPTuners.

I have done a fair amount of research and am comfortable tuning an N/A car. I’ve rescaled my MAF and tweaked the spark when I changed my CAI. I’ve installed a factory 3bar map sensor and scaled its settings accordingly. Lastly, I installed a ZL1 fuel pump and 90lb injectors and have put the new injector data in.

My issue is how to approach the tune now that I’ve installed the turbos.

My plan was to set it to MAF only and rescale the MAF for the new charge tubing characteristics, then do a SD-only tune, and then let the car run in mixed mode (MAF plus SD). Does this sound like a logical plan? I’m confused because I seem to read about a lot of people that use SD-only tunes and completely ignore the MAF (if I understand correctly).

I have not yet upgraded the OS to the 2Bar Speed Density mode, because I’m not sure if I should go ahead and do that now or wait until after rescaling the MAF (assuming I end up running in mixed mode). I have read a fair amount how to tune using the VE tables, so I feel confident doing it once I am supposed to.

One of my concerns about running in SD-only mode is (I’ve read) that as your weather changes you want to change your tune settings. I don’t have a problem with that at the track when I’m trying to maximize power (or be consistent for ¼ mile runs), but I don’t want to have to change the tune to go to the car show if it’s 30 degrees cooler/warmer today than yesterday (I live in Ohio, this happens a lot).